I'm a police officer trying to help a guy

Old 08-07-2014, 09:28 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm a police officer trying to help a guy

I work as a policeman on the east side of oklahoma in a small town. There's a guy that lives here. A good man, very nice guy. He's always drunk. I've spoken to him many times. I'm a young officer (24) and hes in his early 50s. I'd like to help him but just can't. He told me it takes him 30 beers to get a buzz but he don't stop drinking then. I meet him every morning buying a tallboy of beer to start the morning. Now as a policeman I want to help this guy. He lives in a shack and works only for the beer he drinks. Is there anyone out there that had maybe been in his situation that could maybe help this guy? Thanks in advance
Old 08-07-2014, 09:33 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Could you drive him to an AA meeting?

People there will know what resources are available in your area.

Has he indicated any desire to quit? If not, sorry to say, you are wasting your time.
Old 08-07-2014, 09:34 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

That's very admirable of you, Addmik. Unfortunately, there's very little you can do for him. Don't be surprised if he used to be very successful, have a wonderful family, etc. etc. but the disease (alcoholism) took him down and he didn't want to fight. It has to be up to the addict to WANT to become sober and WANT to help themselves. You could offer finding an AA group for him, but don't be offended if he goes off on you. Good luck.
Old 08-07-2014, 09:36 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Man I don't like to hear I'm wasting my time, though I know it's a hard reality to grasp. He told me he's been drinking for 40 years of his life. I don't believe AA would help this guy. He has nothing (that I know of). Was hoping I could find a way to bring him back from being hooked as bad as he is. He won't open up at all
Old 08-07-2014, 09:37 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Trudgin

Admirable you are trying to help him - shows a lot of compassion.