SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   Where to start (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/336723-where-start.html)

gbanon 06-25-2014 05:29 AM

Where to start

Firstly I am new to this, not much of a sharer but I feel like I need to connect with people who have lived through similar situations.
I have been with my partner 8 years and we have lived together for the last 5. At first I just thought he was a heavy drinker but as time went on it became clear that it was more than that. We go through periods of time when he does not drink at all and those are fantastic, the longest of those was 6 months but that was due to having Pancreatitis and the pain being unbearable. The pancreatitis got better and the drinking restarted. During the binges our life together is becoming unbearable. On average it can be 1-3 months between binges and the binges are becoming longer each time. When I say binges he will drink from the morning all through the day and night and when he is not drinking he will be sleeping. It can be anything from 2 bottles of whiskey a day, 4 or 5 bottles of wine or 3 12 packs of beer. We are currently into the 6th week of a binge and I gave him the ultimatum that he had to get help or I was leaving. He has seen his doctor who prescribed Baclofen along with antidepressants and a sleeping aid. He is still drinking all be it far far less. On one hand I want to give him a chance to see if the medication works, it is a huge step that he has at least sought help. On the other I still think I should leave and am struggling to see what I should do.

Hawkeye13 06-25-2014 06:33 AM

Welcome gbanon;

Alcoholism is progressive, so this very likely is as "good" as it will get and as you are