Life with a recovering partner

Old 06-12-2014, 08:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Life with a recovering partner

I am brand new to this and was hoping to get input from anyone who is currently living with a partner/spouse who is in early recovery. I have heard so many stories about leaving the alcoholic, but what about staying? What are your experiences? I am feeling very discouraged. My daughters father (in the past 2 years we have been together) has been in detox twice, out of town sober living, 30 day in patient rehab and now currently in town sober living. He had been in there 2 weeks and began drinking and returning to the house, then "left" the house, now he is going back for his first night back to the sober house. I feel like I have stuck around because of his desire to be clean and sober, we also have an 8 month old daughter. I get so frustrated with his continuous relapses and find myself so angry with him. I know my anger doesn't help the situation! So any stories of how you have been able to make it work with your partner who is newly in recovery would be helpful for me!
Old 06-12-2014, 08:25 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi, actually I am an alcoholic and my husband is not. The only suggestion I would have is find a local Al Anon meetings, this way you will have support from others experiencing what you are.
Old 06-12-2014, 08:26 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR. Please stick around and keep posting. The stickies at the top of this forum have a lot of good info.