Pregnant, Opiate addicted father-to-be

Old 02-04-2014, 10:33 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Pregnant, Opiate addicted father-to-be

Hello all- this is my first time ever posting on a forum such as this. The reason I am driven to do so now is that I do not feel I can talk with my friends or family about this. I am 29 years old and literally 1 day away from my due date. My boyfriend and I are having a little boy (he was unplanned, but welcome). My boyfriend and I are both liberally minded musicians, educated, from good families and had both returned to our home town when we met. I knew he had been to rehab about a year before I met him for opiate addiction but aside from being a partier in the drinking sense believed him to be clean. I had a decent job and so did he... we moved in together after finding out I was pregnant and life carried on. Throughout the fall it seemed like money things were not adding up... but I naively trusted him and we both worked so much that it was hard to keep tabs on his goings on. I was in the dark. Things started falling apart emotionally, he was being meaner, more evasive, sketchy in his behavior... and finally in early December he admitted to me and his mother that he was using again and had spent all of the money we were trying to build up for baby. He agreed to counseling and detoxed at his mothers and started going to NarcAnon. My family knew too and though it was hard for them to understand they, like I, were willing to give him another chance to get it together. Now a few days ago, I found out he was using again. All our money is gone, he stole money from his mother, he pawned my guitars and computer, took the money I was saving to pay a phone bill... It completely destroyed me. I fell apart, yelled, cried, said awful things to him... His mom is at the point where I believe she will press charges against him.