Is there any chance?

Old 01-05-2014, 07:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Pia

Is there any chance?

I think I know the answer but thought I would ask (for confirmation, having a hard time trusting in my thoughts)

My AH has alcoholism on both sides of the family. No one has ever become a recovering A that I am aware of. Stokes, heart bypass surgery, dying from alcoholism no problem every weekend is a good excuse to get together drink beer do drugs throw horseshoes around (life is good for them). I do have to say he doesn't wake up and grab a beer yet!! He also has not gotten a DUI so he feels like he is invincible. And he prides himself to tell me he has never laid a hand on me or anyone else ever.

My AH doesn't show any compassion or empathy for me or anyone. I "think" I'm no expert but even if he hits rock bottom he won't do anything about it. Is it safe to say my situation will never get better it will only get worse?
Old 01-05-2014, 08:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Pia

Did I say something wrong??
Old 01-05-2014, 08:26 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
peaceful seabird

Weekends can be quiet on SR.

I can't predict the future of your husband's alcoholism.

If you do not feel you are being treated with the love and respect you deserve, that is a valid reason to consider changing your relationship status.
Old 01-05-2014, 08:28 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Dear lilolme....
I'm so sorry you are worried and suffering. I am in a similar place and I hear you. I don't know what the future brings for me.... I hope there is a chance for your H. I'm not feeling hopeful at the moment bc we are coming off a very bad weekend.

Take care of yourself. There is ALWAYS hope for those willing to get help, even if it's NOT the Alcoholic who gets well.

Beat wishes.
L
Old 01-05-2014, 08:33 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

His personality is not going to change. Hugs
Old 01-05-2014, 08:34 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Location: The planet Earth, or at least that's what I've been told.
Lil -