Child of an alcoholic mother-please listen

Old 12-17-2013, 08:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Child of an alcoholic mother-please listen

Hello everyone =) My name is Christina and I am the 20-year-old-daughter of someone who has a drinking problem or is an alcoholic. No matter how you word it, I am affected by her drinking. My mother is a lightweight and definitely abuses alcohol, and she becomes a very different person when she drinks. There was one horrible incident my senior year of high school where she threw up all over her bedroom and got a severe wound from bumping her head. Earlier that night my brother had punched a window because he was upset at her drinking, and my dad had to take him to the hospital, so I was in my room when she bumped herself and was throwing up, and she was all alone until my dad found her. I was just very emotionally scarred from this incident, and there have been more minor incidents since then.

I am now a college student and I live at college, and I find during the semesters I feel much happier because I am not constantly worrying about my mother. My younger bother will be in college starting in August, and my dad has to travel sometimes for business. I joined this forum tonight because I just started having upsetting thoughts such as, "What if she falls down the stairs while very drunk and no one is home to save her?" I think I have mild anxiety from wondering if she'll hurt herself or die from drinking. I wonder what would happen if my dad died in a freak accident--I wonder if she would just kill herself from drinking if something like that happened. I have done a little research and I understand that no one can stop an alcoholic if they are intent on drinking. I just, for some reason, feel so responsible especially if she died all alone in the house or something like that. It haunts me. What can I do? Is there anything I can do? She doesn't abuse alcohol every day, and that one horrible night was already two years ago, but especial