Frustrated!!!

Old 06-06-2002, 07:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
testosteronecity

Angry Frustrated!!!

I really don't know what to do. After years of just living with my husbands alcohol problem and finally deciding to "fix" me, I'm impatient! Is that normal? I want things fixed now! How do I deal with the fact that DH will not admit to a drinking problem, even though, I and everyone around him can see it? How do I deal with his rantings or his self-pity? I told him I attended my first Al-Anon meeting yesterday, and his whole demeaner changed. He wouldn't talk to me and when he came to bed he was drunk (of course) and kept mumbling just loud enough so I could hear, how sorry he is for making my life miserable. If he's that freakin' sorry, why won't he do something????I can't stand feeling good about myself one minute then him making me feel bad about feeling good. Or seconding guessing my feelings. I know, this will come in time, as I'm just learning how to deal with all this but I want it to happen now! How do you deal with it? Also, has anyone actually made a go of things when their spouse refuses to acknowledge that he/she is an alcoholic? I want to get healthy for me and my kids but don't know if this is possible if he refuses to admit the problem. Right now, leaving really isn't an option. I have 5 kids and have been out of the job market for 15yrs. I'm sorry for rambling, but I have no where else to turn. I'm only able to make 1 al-anona meeting a week in my area.

Thanks for listening,
Tracy

Old 06-06-2002, 08:05 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Tracy,
It amazes me how we are all so alike with our thoughts. First of all, your not alone. As you see here, and in your meeting.