Alcoholic Neighbor

Old 11-22-2013, 05:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcoholic Neighbor

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting and I need some advice (don't we all). I have an alcoholic neighbor, who has ascites, spider moles, musty breath and is turning yellow. She called my house Tuesday afternoon and asked me to come to her house as she didn't feel well. I took one look at her and told her she needed to go to the hospital. She said no ambulance she didn't want to pay to get there so could my husband take her? (By the way she is married and her husband works local). To make a long story short my husband rushed home from work and took her to the ER. She was transported Tuesday night to a local bigger hospital for testing etc. She refused the liver testing. This morning at 8am (Thursday) she called my husband to come get her as she had signed herself out of the hospital. I'm sure she came home and made herself a drink. I told my husband instead of being a "yes man" he has now has to turn into a "no man" when asked for help, I too am refusing anymore help. Did I do the right thing?

Just a quick note, before 8am this morning (Friday) she's already on her way to the liquor store. The liquor store opens at 8am.
Old 11-22-2013, 06:30 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi, FLUSA! Your neighbor does not have boundaries and it's up to you and your husband to set them for her. Obviously her husband has given up on her or she would have asked for his help and/or he would have been willing to help her. She obviously knows what the issue is (refusing liver testing? Hello?) and no one is able to "help" her but her. You and your husband need to just set that boundary and tell her you wish her well, but it is not up to you to take care of her. I wish you well in your situation!
Old 11-22-2013, 06:32 AM
  # 3 (permalink)