Finding a good Alanon meeting

Old 10-25-2013, 07:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Finding a good Alanon meeting

I have been visiting Alanon groups for a couple of years. I have been married for almost 25 years to a man whose drinking has escalated over the last 10 years. About 2 years ago he went into a 30 day program, did well for a year and then despite AA is falling off the wagon. My life is a mess and I have alot of decisions to make. I need to hear and talk to people who can relate to the issues of living with an alcoholic I would love to be able to find a "home" group but what I have found in at least three of the groups I have tried are people that are there because they seem to be lonely souls who know they have an outlet to talk because no one would ever ask them to leave the group. There is no qualifier for them. My days are long and by the time the meeting is starting I am doing everything I can to stay alert. And then you have someone who spends 15 minutes talking about the candy bowl on her desk. Or. a story about a second cousin's cat. Then there is another Alanon group that meets on a Saturday that is just too large. 50-60 people.

I would love to find a group where I can enjoy the people there and not cringe when I walk in the door.
Old 10-25-2013, 07:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I know it can be frustrating, but keep trying! It took me about 6 or 8 different meetings before I found a coupel of groups that really clicked for me. I actually found a larger group to be pretty great once i got used to it. During the meeting it was more about the topics to share than the number of attendees. i found that when I made a conscious decision to come early and stay later, that I got to know some folks better, found peopole I could really realate with and felt much more comfortable in the group. Some of the friendships I made in meetings have been long lasting.
Old 10-26-2013, 03:17 AM
  # 3 (permalink)