One foot in, one foot out Can't do it!

Old 08-18-2013, 07:31 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

One foot in, one foot out Can't do it!

Good morning,
This is my first post and I have been viewing this website for a few months and it has been very helpful. It is nice to know I am not the only one, I wish no one had this problem. I have been married 10 years and in my fifties. Guilty as charged, I drank with the AH and was his drinking buddy. I have stopped drinking and this is when I noticed all the signs. I went to a coaching course and realized that I was not the one with a problem (self esteem) Aha moment! I have been going to Alanon for a few months now. I have also just lost my job due to restructuring and am looking for a job and feel totally trapped and out of control.

I have been asking him to go to the doctor for over a year now and he keeps saying he will go, but never does. He has pain in his left foot and I suspect he may have other things. He isn't looking very good. His stomach is also quite big. He has told me that he will not quit drinking, which makes me very sad. I had a meltdown on Monday and cried most of the day.
One day, I feel sorry for him, one day I hate him. It is such a whirlwind of emotions. I do not buy him alcohol. I do not pour his drinks. I, however don't say anything when he is drinking. Our communication is surface. I don't ask him for advice in case he flies off the handle. But he is always sometimes very nice, hence a roller coaster of emotions. I speak to friends and family and now this forum. He goes to work everyday, but also drinks every day. He has vodka and rum going, (probably so I can't figure out how much he is drinking) I just have to look at him to know.
When we first met, we used to work out 3 times a week and go running every Saturday, this does not happen anymore. We now sometimes go for a walk, but he is always under the influence when we go for a walk.