XAH is Dying...Just need to vent

Old 07-04-2013, 12:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

XAH is Dying...Just need to vent

So, my XAH is dying of metastatic melanoma. He managed to burn so many bridges in his drinking life that I am looked at as the one to be his primary caretaker, because I actually still give a **** (the only person in his life who does apparently) and have the summer off because I am a teacher.

Holy ****, everybody...it's been really hard. And emotional. And just...hard. It's not winning me any friends with my fiancé either (oh...did I mention I have a fiancé, and we bought a house together about 10 months ago)? I guess I don't even have a question right now, but I'm sure one will crop up. So far, it's run the gamut for me emotionally from being super sorry for him, feeling love for him again, feeling hatred for him again while he tears me apart for not leaving my fiancé for him cuz he's dying, to feeling pity for him as well as compassion mixed with love and wanting to help him have some semblance of dignity and well, fun sometimes, before he leaves this big blue marble. His prognosis is in months, not years. All of this is foreign to me. I gave too much to this man, was completely co-dependent, then got over that to a large extent, and now he needs me, or at least someone, for real, and it's hard. I'm in therapy. My daughter is in therapy.

anyway, just want to check in and vent for now. I'm sure I'll come up with some questions later.

Edit to add...he's the father of my daughter. That makes it more compelling for me to want to help. I think I could turn it over more easily otherwise.
Old 07-04-2013, 12:50 AM
  # 2 (permalink)