SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   Deprivation-Giving yourself what you need. (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/297984-deprivation-giving-yourself-what-you-need.html)

helltoraise 06-16-2013 12:52 PM

Deprivation-Giving yourself what you need.

I am just learning about deprivation. I was raised in a family where self care was considered selfish. Being an individual was selfish. It's very much don't disappoint the family, embarrass the family, family comes first etc. My sisters and I are all adults and they still think they can voice their opinions for how I live my life. Oddly, I was never given the same option. If I do something displeasing then it often results in silent treatments. I have realized I have really held myself back in life because of a fear of losing the family. My life doesn't reflect me at all. or very little.

My question.....how do you heal from this....how do you start giving yourself the life you need or want even when the voices in your head are yelling at you that you are selfish and bad and worthless.

Thank you.

LifeRecovery 06-16-2013 01:08 PM

Helltoraise-

I don't know how to tell you specifics as I am just learning how to turn the corner in my life and have some fun (which also does not happen in my life or my family).

I grew up in a very codependent household and it sounds similar.

Al-Anon has helped me with this significantly, but I really needed a therapist to work it out with also. I live 2800 miles away from my family at this time which helps me to not engage with their stuff or them with mine. I hope this is not the case forever but the distance helps me for now.