Broke up with addict three months ago...struggling.

Old 05-29-2013, 11:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Broke up with addict three months ago...struggling.

Hi all -- I just joined SR last night although I've been roaming around the site for the past few months. A little bit about me: I'm in my early 20s and live in NYC. I graduated from college last year and I'm working my dream job at a major media/entertainment company in the city. From an outsider's perspective, my life looks pretty good.

However, I'm currently going through a depression related to the breakup with my ex-boyfriend of a year and a half. I met him in college; his roommate was dating my roommate. Everything was going great at first. He was fun, sweet, attentive and made me laugh. We really just connected and had a great time together. I knew he used drugs occassionally, but honestly I didn't think much of it. After all, we were in college...a lot of kids used drugs recreationally. Looking back, I can now see all of the signs pointed to the fact that he was not just a recreational user -- he was an addict all along. He was constantly disappearing or wouldn't answer calls/texts for hours at a time, he was always out of money even though he had a part-time job after classes and some of his friends were definitely sketchy. I ignored the signs at the time.

Six months into our relationship, he flew home to the West Coast to visit family. I got a call the next day where he blindsided me letting me know that his family staged an intervention for his drug addiction and that he was going to rehab the next day. I was in absolute SHOCK. I had absolutely no idea he was an addict and I felt so incredibly betrayed. It seemed as if my world came crashing down in the matter of a ten minute phone call.