Expecting twins, married to an alcoholic.

Old 04-21-2013, 12:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Yellatmel

Expecting twins, married to an alcoholic.

Hi everyone,

i'm new to this and looking for advice/words of wisdom. Im two years married to a man I love, and expecting his two daughters who are due in August, our first children, however, my husband is a functioning alcoholic. He works graveyard and sleeps all day. We only get 1 day a week together when he's not working or sleeping, and he spends it drunk. Almost every single weekend. I recently got out of the military, and ever since my last deployment which ended in July of 2012, he has been a different person. Its like when I came back from overseas he was someone else. Ever since then his drinking has gone to a whole new level, and nothing I say or do slows him down or makes him quit. He hides his cheap vodka bottles in various places and drinks in secret, and then denies he's been drinking, even when he's falling over and literally peeing himself and busting his face on things when he falls. It's so hard to watch him continue on like this week after week. And the hardest part is, we're about to have two babies. I love him, and I do not regret getting pregnant because Ive wanted to be a mom for so long, and honestly thought I couldnt even get pregnant due to health problems, but GOD gave us two miracle babies, and I couldn't be happier about that. I just don't want to end up raising them alone. My husband has never hit me, but he is becoming more and more mean and violent when he's drunk. Calling me names, telling me he thinks the kids aren't his, (which is absolutely not true, they are 100% his) and "jokingly" says he regrets getting me pregnant, and calls me crazy all the time. He's thrown things at me, and for the first time ever, he grabbed me by the hair last weekend when he was at an all time low. Sometimes I think he has the drinking problem in order to cope with his past. He had a rough childhood, his father wa