recovering from my lapsed recovering alcoholic

Old 03-24-2013, 02:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

recovering from my lapsed recovering alcoholic

I feel unstable. I check this forum over and over and over again, particularly when I'm lonely at night and missing him so badly I can hardly stand it. I keep hoping this community will offer clues, pieces of the puzzle, some essential insight that will help me understand where he is...dare I say who he is? I don't understand the mind of an alcoholic, but I'm an eager student. Anything at all that you can tell me would be exceedingly helpful.

I still want to contact him.

When I met my XAB, he'd recently returned from a year of drunken debauchery in Ireland. After a spell of sobriety, he arrived at graduate school expecting that a new location/group of friends would help. When he drank an entire bottle of tequila at a very mellow (semi-professional) event, he spent the next few days wallowing in self-loathing. He felt like a "lost cause," doomed to a life consumed by either dry or wet drunkenness.

The following week, he met me. (Don't worry, I make no pretensions to be the hero of this story.) We met in class; a friend of mine had actually told him to keep his eyes peeled for a girl with dark hair and freckles. Later I found out he was so intrigued by my friends description, that it ultimately made his decision to enroll in the course. Shortly after meeting me, he asked permission to ask me out on a date.

He was up front about his problem with alcohol from the outset. I was honest with him about my past, he was honest with me about his. We spent an immense amount of time and energy talking about his drinking problem. It took me a long time to convince him that he wasn't burdening me, that I wanted to be there for him. He had nightmares almost every night of waking up some where hung over, not remembering how he started drinking again. Each night would be a different dream with the same ending: me hurt from his drinking.