Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Friends and Family > Friends and Family of Alcoholics
Reload this Page >

Shocked to find out (now Ex-)BF is Alcoholic, please share advice!

Old 03-20-2013, 07:49 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I am utterly lost, confused, depressed and bewildered upon discovering that my now-ex bf is an alcoholic and substance abuser, and has completely ended things btw us.
No, I did not have any idea. I have no experience w/drugs and only some w/alcohol. I did not know how to recognize the signs, and I do not know how to handle the pain I am going through from losing him, and the life we planned together. (Marriage, kids, a lifetime ahead).

Neither of us was looking for anyone when we met. We had both lost our previous Loves in tragic, Horrible accidents. (His late Wife, my late BF). Neither of us thought we would ever fall in love again. But we met& that all melted away. Over a year, we talked all the time, fell in love, made plans for a future, etc. The only bad time was when he once just kind of went off the grid (now I guess I know why).

We both travel a lot for work, so it didn't bother me not to see or hear from him constantly. I am not someone who wants company every second. But I guess this is how he hid his alcoholism, and his other substance.

Then, when we were getting ready to travel together, and start plans for moving in together, he disappeared &went on serious binges 2 weekends in a row. Then he disappeared & left me to go on the trip alone.
I was SO confused & could not understand what was going on, finally discovering bit by bit that he has a serious alcohol problem & another addiction too.

I tried very hard to talk to him about it, that I am very worried about him & what he is doing to his life- he could kill himself or someone else!
Long story short, he has finally just stopped talking to me. It has been a few months now.