Slightly O/T: Are you happy in your work? (ACoA issues)

Old 03-06-2013, 11:30 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Slightly O/T: Are you happy in your work? (ACoA issues)

This has become a big issue for me lately & I've started to understand how some of my codie issues may have affected my personal happiness in deeper ways than I ever really saw clearly before.

I *hate* my job. I work in a good environment & with good people for the most part. I'm happy to have work in this economy & to have a pretty ok place to come to every day. But it's empty, soulless, materialistic work & as I progress personally I find it harder & harder to come in every day with a happy-go-lucky attitude necessary for this kind of customer service.

Looking back I can see where I never, ever took the time to really figure out what I wanted to do with my life. (I barely had time to LIVE my life, it was more about staying in your role in an alcoholic family.... the addict always comes first.) I graduated HS at the top of my class & was fully prepped to start college: college prep classes, credit earning courses in Sr Yr, heck I even studied Latin as a language for 2.5 yrs as a prep tool for pre-med/law "just in case"..... but with a dysfunctional FOO (AF) there was never time in my childhood for me to be a kid or explore who *I* was as a person. Going into college with no financial assistance & no clue what I wanted to do, I just froze up & found the possibilities too limitless to comprehend. My FOO & extended family all encouraged me to "do whatever I wanted" & that I was "sure to succeed because I was just soooo smart" but I never had any sense of direction or sense of what I would enjoy doing for a career. I don't think I knew how to define myself outside of who I was in relation to those around me. I identified as a daughter, sister, spouse... but not really any sense of Self.