new here

Old 04-08-2004, 04:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy new here

Hello I have been married for 10 years my husband is an alcoholic we have 3 children. I have tried to deal with it as long as i could. I have tried everything in my power to help him so now I am coming here for advice. How do i deal with it or dont deal with it. please help
Old 04-08-2004, 05:34 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi and welcome!!!! I'm pretty new to this myself -- but the first thing I've been working on is understanding the three C's -- We didn't cause it, we can't control it, and we can't cure it. This is the essence of step one -- realizing we are powerless over another's drinking. This is not as hopeless as it sounds, and I'm actually beginning to find it relieving. What we *are*capable of is controlling the way we respond to another's drinking -- we can learn to have personal boundaries, meaning that we don't let ourselves get dragged around emotionally by his drinking, his abusive comments, whatever may come up... It also means we get to let ourselves off the hook for his moods, his ups and downs, his anger, etc. He is responsible for his actions and reactions, you for yours.

I'll turn this one over to the real experts now -- I'm just a baby at this. Hugs to you!
Old 04-08-2004, 05:57 PM
  # 3 (permalink)