New Member: 1st post - My Story

Old 10-01-2012, 09:49 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New Member: 1st post - My Story

I "came out" from hiding my situation a year ago September. And what a year it's been! I've been in Al-Anon for 9 months and my husband has received his 7 month coin from AA. A little of my story:

I met my husband on-line and we spoke for a couple of months before meeting at a local bar in 2005 with his friends and mine. I have no prior experience with alcoholism. I was in my late 20s and we all did the bar scene. I thought nothing of it. When we met I thought he was brilliant, handsome, sweet, educated, owned his own business, had his own apartment (in the middle of the bar scene), and he made me laugh... our groups of friends got along amazingly and we had a lot of fun the first two years of "partying". Yes, he drank - so did I, we all did. I was (so mad to say this) impressed that he can drink all night and go to work the next day. My drinking was weekends, I couldn't keep up with him, and still I had no idea. Or maybe I didn't want to know.

In 2007 he moved in with me at my apartment (away from the bars). We were engaged shortly after. Now, I was pretty much done with the partying - now it was time to play house. And play house I did! Dinner ready, house clean, laundry, etc - I wanted to show just how good of a wife I could be. Our partying now that we could no longer walk to the bars was tailgating at ball games or random house parties. He would come home from work with a 18 pack of beer, and usually finish it. I was working two jobs (because I loved them both and I also have my own need to be financially independent) so I didn't even realize he was barely going into work, just sitting home drinking and playing video games. When I came home early one day and was surprised to see him, his response was since it was his own business he could make his own hours. OK. Sure.