3 young children and husband is hiding

Old 08-25-2012, 08:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

3 young children and husband is hiding

I am new to this and trying to figure out what to think, feel or even do. My husband who has always been a casual drinker and doesn't have an appropriate shut-off valve has begun hiding his alcohol. What used to be drinking too much publically has now become hiding vodka in various places. He lies and always turns it around on me - I'm monitoring him, I'm harassing him, I'm making too big of a deal about things. When he is not drinking, which is often, he is a wonderful man and a wonderful father to our three children. We are under a tremendous amount of stress due to starting a new company but that can't be the coping mechanism. I'm completely overwhelmed and honestly, just want to start over without this nonsense. I don't know what to think or feel and certainly don't know how to handle things with the kids. I am starting to feel that if he is hiding things, that's my clue that this is completely out of control now and it needs to change. I know however that only I can change and I'm scared out of my mind as to what to do. Any thoughts?
Old 08-25-2012, 08:54 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I am sorry you are having to deal with this. I hid the extent of my drinking from my wife too. It ended for a while the first time when I just shamefully confessed it (hiding vodka). Unfortunately about a year later I was at it again and it didn't take her long to figure it out and just ask me. I obvoiusly had to admit it again. It pains me to even write about this and I am determined to never put her through that again.

I think you are correct to be concerned. I am hesitant to say too much more as I do not consider myself to be any sort of expert. There are lots of great people here though that you may find helpful. You are not alone.

Again, I am sorry you have to deal with this. Hoping you can find Peace and Comfort.
Old 08-25-2012, 08:57 PM