Wife comes home from rehab this week.. Nervous!

Old 07-30-2012, 06:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Wife comes home from rehab this week.. Nervous!

Hi everyone,
I'm a newbie to Al-Anon and the alcoholism phenomenon! It's amazing, now that it's affected our lives how nieve I was to her disease and it's affect on our family. I was controlling, enabling, all of the above and probably her #1 trigger.. She got a DWI with our daughter on May 27th and has been in rehab for about 30 days.

She comes home on Saturday. She has been in a location six hours away by her mom's house. Her sister visited her yesterday and told me today that she feels my wife is still not ready to come home (her opinion). I'm trying to do what I learned in Al Anon and just encourage my wife, pray that she finds the help she needs to stay sober and pray for her success. It's going to be very hard to watch if she hasn't hit bottom yet.. With all of the probation and CPS requuirements she has to maintain, even if she slips a little she's gone to jail.

She blew over 4 times the limit so the prosecutor was very harsh as he should have been..

I just don't know if I'll be strong enough to set boundries for me and my daughter, I'm going to try with all my might to "detach with love"... Does anyone have any guidance for this new, scared Al-Anon husband?

Thanks
Old 07-30-2012, 06:54 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
To thine own self be true.

So glad to hear you are going to Al-Anon! Keep going back! Do you have Courage to Change? Have you read Under The Influence? That's a very helpful book. Be sure to make time for you. Schedule 15 minutes of silence every day. Take good care of yourself. Pay attention to your needs.
Old 07-30-2012, 06:58 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
peaceful seabird

Welcome to the SR family!

I'm glad you found us, but sorry for the situation that brought you here. You are among peers who understand what your life has become.