What to do?

Old 07-29-2012, 05:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What to do?

I hope I can find the responses to my post. I am new at this. My son is in rehab (as an inmate for DUI3). His wife asked us to have the kids for a couple weeks while she travels for work. First comment - WE WANT TO SEE OUR GRANDCHILDREN. Second comment - Having them during our busy work period is difficult jockeying our schedules, but doable. Third - I want to write a letter to our son in rehab saying -- Wife asked us to take the kids for two weeks which starts the day you have your court appearnce. You may be released and if you are -- are you coming here with the kids? or are you going to care for the kids at home?

If you aren't released...we will have the kids at our house and work through the work schedule some how.

I want to have our grandchildren. I am unhappy we are 'used' rather than thoughtful visits. Wife has always manipulated situations. Son is doing that, also. Sober, he didn't. Neither one shows any gratitude either.

Bottom line is I want the grandchildren to visit. It will be very difficult and tiring for us but want to see and hug them.

Should I involve son in rehab or just move forward and just let Wife know we will take the kids for the two weeks? I will not be a happy camper if son is released, we have the kids, and he is at the house alone with his feet up. I will feel abused! Because he is their dad, they love him dearly... I am feeling he should be involved in this decision....partly because he may be released that day.

Any thoughts?

Daily, everything is o.k. I am working at not enabling.
Old 07-29-2012, 05:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
To thine own self be true.