I'm New to this so I'm Just putting it out There

Old 07-17-2012, 04:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm New to this so I'm Just putting it out There

I am a 39 year old father of two and right now I feel helpless because of my alcoholic wife. I understand that I am not to blame for her addiction, though she tells me and anyone who will listen that I am.

Though I am only a social drinker, my wife has always drank in the 12 years we have been together. This year, though, she has gone off the deep end with her and she is spiraling out of control. I love her very much and am concerned for her safety, as well as the safety of our two girls, ages 8 and 11. My wife is 44 and is currently unemployable due to her drinking.

Five months ago, my wife wrecked her car into another driver. I arrived at the scene only to see her being put into a police car for DUI, crying hysterically and mouthing the words "I'm so sorry". The accident occurred at 1:30 on a Tuesday afternoon, one hour later and she would have been picking up the children from school. While I hoped this was the catalyst she needed to quit drinking, and she finally admitted to an alcohol counselor that she had a problem and wanted help, her sobriety was short lived.

As soon as she got her license back 30 days after the accident, I noticed she would come home from the counseling sessions her lawyer had set up with a cup of beer in the car. I would begin to find empty beers and full ones hidden throughout the house, including in my daughter's toy box. Needless to say I was angry. Each time I would confront her and loud arguments would ensue. I got to the point (and probably still am at the point) where I would return home from work consumed with catching her drinking or finding her stash. I went through a week where I confiscated 40 beers and a bottle of liquor.