It Just Finally Dawned On Me

Old 06-17-2012, 01:24 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

It Just Finally Dawned On Me

Hello,

I just joined this website because about an hour ago it finally hit me that my boyfriend of 6 years is an alcoholic. I have no previous experience with alcoholism, my parents never drank and previous boyfriends only socially, so I had no reason not to believe him when says he just needs to try harder to quit, and this time it'll work. It usually only works for a couple weeks, tops. And tonight I just realized what this means after running across an article on alcoholism. I'm kind of in shock at how accurate it was, talking about defense mechanisms and him thinking he can heal himself and giving himself special permission to do it because he deserves it and stuff.

Tonight he went to bed drunk and I cried, for the first time, about his drinking, and realized something is truly wrong here. For years I've watched him in constant struggle with himself, drowning in his own guilt and self-hatred about not being able to quit. I've always remained detached, for some reason thinking eventually he would overcome this and we could finally have a the real, deep and healthy relationship that I know is possible with him. I never really gave it a second thought because I trusted him, that what he was telling me was the truth, that this was just a phase and he'd get over it. I didn't recognize the signs of a true addiction because I didn't know what they were and had never really been around it.