Do I tell AH's family?

Old 06-12-2012, 11:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Do I tell AH's family?

Hello all,
I'm new to SR and Al-Anon. Quick backgound: After an alcoholic crisis, my marriage counselor recommended that AH be evualated by Valley Hope in March 2011. We each promptly ignored the intensive outpatient treatment program and opted for individual counseling with a substance abuse counselor. AH visited him 4 times.

Well now that AH and I have experienced crisis mode for March-May, we are separated. I finally had a true honest discussion with my marriage counselor in April, who advised I should consider Al-Anon (he is the third counselor in less than three years to recommend this to me) and gave me a raw evaluation that some, if not all, of our marital problems are directly related to AH's alcoholism.It's taken me over a month to truly accept that my DH is actually my AH. I know now that it's the disease driving his behavior to separate from me, that it's nothing to do with me, that his addiction has to do what it can to preserve itself. Simply put, I impeded his drinking/getting high plans because I wasn't thrilled with every time AH wanted to golf, go to happy hour, see movies, fill-in-the-blank activity where getting high or drinking can be done, while spending quality time with me was never a priority.

My family knows about me going to Al-Anon and my counseling. AH's family is clueless though that AH is an alcoholic, that is the true reason why he separated from me, and basically AH is on a downward spiral. Should I talk to AH's brother or parents?
Old 06-12-2012, 11:41 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

This has always been a grey area for me, n terms of feedback that I have gotten about it.
Some say it is not your job to do that, as he is an adult, and they probably know something is not right, while others concede that it is not your job to keep his 'secret'.