pls help me to understand alcoholism!

Old 12-29-2003, 03:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

pls help me to understand alcoholism!

hello,
I am new to this, some of you may be aware that my dad is a alcoholic. He refuses to beleive he has a problem. He is very needy and dependant on me in terms of advice and emotional support, it has been so overwheleming. threw out my life (I am now 34 yrs old) we have not always spoke, But now and for awhile i must stay in contact for the welfare of my lil brother. I dont have a choice because he is a single dad, he raises my little brother. I have a problem seperating myself. He dosent work and so i get at least 8 calls a day from him, not to mention he keeps me on the phone. I am trying to recover and have a hard time recovering, i feel like he is holding me back. I dont tell him this because in the past i would blow up at him blaming him for all of his actions in the past. I have a healthy mother who was beaten by him years ago as well as a 40yr old brother beaten as well, I was not subjected to any physical abuse because mom removed me at an earlly age. Thank you mommy.