Guilt and the RA

Old 04-08-2012, 03:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Guilt and the RA

Hi all, newbie here. Well, new to the forums, but not to alcoholism. I grew up with alcoholics in my family (father, uncles, cousins) and managed to marry one, too. My husband has been the classic Jeckyll/Hyde drunk - a prince in the mornings and a cruel, uncaring monster at night. About three weeks ago I came home and he & his best drinking buddy were - surprise! - drunk as skunks. At that point I just hit my wall. At that very moment I ceased caring about this relationship, I was done being a codependant enabler, I was never going to have to deal with this again. I didn't say as much, but my husband must have sensed it, because he's been sober since that night. The problem is that I just don't care. It's tearing me up inside, but I made up my mind that night and I just can't seem to believe that he's sober for good. He's tried many, many times in the past and never makes it more than a month. He says he's done getting drunk (wether I stay or not). He says if I want to throw away 20+ years of marriage that's my perogative. I want a new life, but I feel so SO guilty for feeling this way, especially since he's trying. I feel like if I was a good wife I'd support his sobriety and stay here with him, make a new life with a sober husband. But I can't relax, I drive home from work with a pain in my guts just wondering what I'll come home to, I don't want him touching me, I don't want to spend time with him...is this normal? Should I ride this out and hope for the best if I'm constantly preparing for the worst? I feel like the most selfish, horrible person on earth right now.
Old 04-08-2012, 04:51 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Hello Haybelly, Welcome to SR!

You have found a great place for information and support!

My xhusband divorced me--and once I came to terms with it and decided it was for the best as well (he was cheating on me), I still felt guilty.