Alcoholic dad is super "dad"-like- when he isn't sober

Old 12-10-2016, 06:31 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcoholic dad is super "dad"-like- when he isn't sober

Hi, I haven't posted in a while, but I'm thankful for the support I have found in this forum. I hope you are doing well and are staying strong.

So, I'm a university student. When my father is sober (most of the time, stereotypically "functional alcoholic"), he:
- watches a movie
- talks about politics
- goes to bed

Today, he:
- offered to get me an additional expensive gift for the holidays
- grocery shopped for my favorite food
- cooked one of my favorite meals for me
- teased me in a "dad" way
- talked about taking my family on a trip next year
- was affectionate

and I was enjoying it a lot, until I realized that something was a bit sketchy.. and then I realized he wasn't sober.

I'm very upset, and I feel guilty because I know he's always provided for me and loves me and all that, but it's hard when the only time my father seems like more of the stereotypical father is when he's tipsy/drunk, and otherwise he's a "silent manly father who loves me in silence" type. I just got my hopes up so much and got so excited and then realizing it's all because of his addiction just broke my heart a bit.

Can anyone relate? Am I over-reacting ? I guess he either feels more uninhibited when he drinks, or maybe he felt guilty for it so he started doing all this nice stuff. I made the comment to my mother who told me that I was exaggerating and trying to victimize myself.

Thank you for taking the time to read.
Old 12-10-2016, 06:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A work in progress

Hi, there, and welcome.

One thing you have to understand about alcoholics, and that is that they only feel "normal" when they are drinking. Unless and until they do the recovery work necessary to get sober and learn to live that way, happily, they are miserable when they aren't drinking. It's like eating or breathing.