What to do?

Old 01-18-2012, 04:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question What to do?

My boyfriend drinks, to me his actions are that of an alcoholic. He tells me there are a lot worse than him, especially in his circle. He’s self employed, I’m an architect and I valued his knowledge and his creativity. The problem is -- I’m starting to cringe at the sight of alcohol, I’m constantly hiding my disgust, yet blowing up on the little things. I guess I am a full-blown “enabler.” I should give up, but if feels like the wrong time.

He can work for days without drinking, and the binge begins: 12-15 beers before graduating to hard liquor. He lacks in cleanliness or care once he begins. We don’t live together, yet I am finding myself cleaning continually, just to make his house comfortable enough for a movie. He’s never been violent towards me, getting kicked out of bars though is not uncommon.

We started dating three years ago; shortly into the relationship he got his first DWI. Perhaps he was still recovering from a family members death or perhaps it was his recently bankruptcy. I blamed that fully on the economy – and took solace in the fact that if he could acquire that much debt that he would bounce back. I drove when necessary; he conveniently hired his neighbor’s son and made him drive to work. We stayed in, cooked and got along. The drinking slowed. Then he got his license back, and once again he was back in the bars. We broke up only to get back together, 2 years later. He had started working out, claimed he rarely drank anymore missed me dearly.

For a little while things were good. A confirmed bachelor for 20 years – he suddenly started talking about having a family. I felt more invested – his friends told me he had never talked like this before. He was building again, working hard, and going to the gym.