I'm new, confused and overwhelmed

Old 12-14-2011, 06:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm new, confused and overwhelmed

im new to this whole thing. well, not really "new"... ive been affected by an alcoholic for the past few years and im just now trying to reach out i guess. my dad is my alcoholic. hes a wonderful man. the best man ive ever known. he and my mother had a great marriage and he never abused us physically. he never abused us emotionally until now. i guess its emotional abuse... all i can do is cry and pray. he is currently in treatment and while im so relieved hes getting help, it still breaks my heart and i just miss him more than ive ever missed another human being. im an emotional wreck. ive been married for 7yrs and i have 3 small children and i stay home with them while my husband works. my dad and my husband get along great. we havent been able to spend much time with my parents in the last few years because of my dads drinking. he and my husband would drink together. i fear that my husband is a functioning alcoholic. he never really gets drunk but he drinks every single day. he drinks vodka which is also what my dad liked to drink. when dad entered treatment, i asked my husband to stop with the vodka. im terrified of the stuff now. he said he would but has continued to drink it behind my back. i know that i cant make him stop, but im worried if i dont do something he will end up in the same boat as my dad. its like i can see this nightmare coming a mile away and there isnt a thing i can do about it. if he continues and i just try to ignore it, i feel like im enabling him. i know this whole thing is making me crazy. we have been fighting a lot about it. i know i need to go to al-anon but with my 3 small children and a husband who works in the oil field, its hard to find the time. i cant leave them with my inlaws because they are alcoholics too and i have to put my babies first. i just really need some guidance. i feel like my life is spinning out of c