Legally Separated! OMG I did it.

Old 11-28-2011, 02:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Lord Have Mercy

Legally Separated! OMG I did it.

Hi Everyone--

I have been hanging around these forums for quite a while now, dealing with my AW who has been drinking vodka heavily on and off for 10 years. I love her very much, she's sweet and gentle by nature, but that doesn't keep her from drinking herself into the hospital regularly, ignoring warnings, and making poor social decisions.

Most of you understand irrational behavior, caretaking, parenting, putting up with God-knows-what, embarrassment, confusion, uncertainty, worry, fear, etc -- I've done it all!

Well here's something new: one week ago I was declared "legally separated" by a judge. 17 years of marriage, no kids. Because I am a business owner, this cost me every penny I had: all liquid cash in bank accounts, all money in retirement plans, a rental property, plus payments for 6 years. I had more money when I graduated college, than I do right now.

* Never underestimate what a man will pay for his freedom. *

In an unconventional arrangement, we continue to co-own our house and live there as tenants in common. She is getting her own bank accounts and will be 100% responsible for her own bills. If she wants to go to rehab, she can pay, she can basically do anything she wants.

For my part, I don't have to worry about what she thinks anymore. Live, and let live. I am no longer afraid of her, afraid of "what if", and most of all, I don't have to carry the burden of HER SOBRIETY any longer. I don't have to answer questions about it -- she's in God's hands now. As if I ever had any control anyway. I sucked at keeping her sober. Alcohol kicked my a$$.

My general conclusions: 1) I love my wife, I have loved her since the day we met. Hence I have been dealing with her kindly and with patience, LORD help me. 2) I'm going slow. Real slow. Like 1 day at a time slow. 3) It's hard to explain this to other people, and that's OK too.