FIL tearing family apart - not sure how to support

Old 09-19-2011, 06:26 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

FIL tearing family apart - not sure how to support

Hello all - newbie here so thank you for your patience ahead of time.

One month after my wife and I married, we packed up our lives and moved to help take care of her alcoholic father. Three years later, not much has changed with my FIL... except that he drinks more.

A little background on FIL: He was a very abusive man to his family as well as a daily drinker. After his wife died of early onset Alzheimers, he did change - became a nicer man but carried much denial about his past without apologies or acknowledgement and ended up drinking more and more.

He has three kids: One of whom is still scared of him, one who could care less about him, and my wife - who continues to cater to his feelings - still walking on eggshells, if you will. No one, not even his own mother, would stand up to him or ever tell him he was wrong or acting badly so his narcissism to this day remains through the roof.

Six years later and he's drinking a minimum of 1.75 liters of vodka/day straight from the bottle but in true denial form, still insists he only has a few "jiggers." We have taken him to the emergency room for his falls and many other effects of his drinking so many times we've lost count. He's had numerous broken ribs, broken several pieces of glass furniture from his falls, torn his eyeball from its socket, bleeding ulcers, dislocated shoulders (yes, both), blood clots in his legs, lungs, and heart, stage 3 kidney disease, he has brain damage from the drinking... I truly could go on and on with health problems, many of which he has miraculously recovered from. We're beginning to think he's indestructible.

He's been to "recovery" programs a few times and each time he's charmed them (did I mention he was extremely manipulative?!) to where they tell HIM he's not an alcoholic.