OT - Life is an adventure!

Old 08-29-2011, 01:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

OT - Life is an adventure!

Six years ago, I was living in hell. I dreaded coming home from work because I knew there would be a drunk there waiting for me. I endured verbal and emotional abuse daily. I had a knot in my stomach all day every day. Most nights I cried myself to sleep after a made a check of the house to make sure there were no cigarettes left burning or stove/oven left on before he passed out. I was a wreck. I was in disbelief that my life had become what it was. I often lashed out at the people around me, including my children because I was so deeply unhappy. I could not see a way out. I figured I was doomed to live that way for the rest of my days.

I found recovery, a marvelous therapist, and took back my power over my life. A few years later, I discovered my passion--photography. I have been learning and practicing for almost three years now, and I still love it as much as the day I started. Actually, more, because I'm starting to get good at it!

I've posted my photographs here and gotten some very nice compliments. I dabbled in microstock and made some spare change. Finally, a few weeks ago, I decided to set up an online gallery to sell my images. I have several ideas about how to market my work, but it's been slow going with a full time job and two teenagers. So, I go at my own pace and do what I can.

Well, today I made my first sale! What a rush! A total stranger liked one of my photos enough to pay over $200 for a framed print. I'm blown away. I'm still a long way from being able to quit my day job, but I am so far from where I was in 2005 I almost cannot believe it.

I would post a link to my gallery, but since it's a for-profit website, that would be a violation of SR terms. If you are interested in looking, PM me and I will give you the link.

Life really does get better. It does.

L
Old 08-29-2011, 01:29 PM
  # 2 (permalink)