Hello, Im new & want to say hi...

Old 11-19-2003, 05:47 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello, Im new & want to say hi...

Hi everyone,

Im new to SR, but not to recovery. Ive been a grateful member of Al Anon & NarAnon for 15 years. I just found this forum a week ago and very glad I did. The people here seem so wonderfully warm and gratious.

Life is going a bit sad lately for me. I just realized a month ago that I had been in a whole new denial about my former husband, an Alcoholic. I divorced him when I realized I had fallen out of love (Long seperated due to his drinking). When he finally did get sober (4 yrs ago), we became good friends. Actually, great friends and I just came to realize that I had become emotionally dependant on him. Wow,,,,,denial really is a warm blanket,,,,that can ruin my life. I just spent a full 3 weeks in a physically and emotionally withdrawal that I consider to be equal to that of an A going thru withdrawal, with panic attacks, nausea, loss of appetite, hot flashes, crying jags etc.

Luckily, I have a sponsor with the wisdom of Job and a large Al-Anon support group who loved me back to life. Went to 10 meetings a week, still do LOL, and gradually am coming back.

The sadness of my decision to detach from him is great. I know, however, that it is what is best for me at the moment. Its odd how when I divorced him I went through no suffering of this kind,,,I had gradually let go of him over the years and suppose by that time, I was in full acceptance.

In his sobriety he became a lovely man,,,,better than I could have hoped for,,,,,so if nothing else,,,Id like you all to know that people can and do change themselves,,,in thier own time,,,and can become beautiful again. Im finding that out about myself right now. I just have to keep remembering that growth cannot occur without pain. When Im in pain, I become very "teachable".

Thanks for listening,,,Im very glad to be here,,,to be "home".
With much love,
Christina
Old 11-19-2003, 06:35 PM