Manipulation or Controlling?

Old 05-10-2011, 10:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Manipulation or Controlling?

My husband was just in jail for a DWI (2nd this yr) in one car of ours with no interlock and not our other one with the interlock device. I set the boundary that he can not come live with me and the boys. He had just came home from 5 months in rehab and relapsed within a couple of days...hence the 2nd DWI. I am working on boundries. Both cars are in my name as well as the insurance. I have been telling him for two years I would put one of the cars in his name but he never would. I have often wondered if he didn't get around to doing it because then it would be his responsibility and if i said no to him using it he would be able to blame me. Now he wants me to give him the car with the interlock device on it because he needs a vehicle, If I even try to talk to him he's always "accusing me of controlling this/controlling that" which happens to be one of my triggers and am trying to avoid having conversations like that. I am not keeping the vehicle from him to punish him. I just feel that since it is in my name and on my insurance that I would be taking a huge gamble to trust someone who obviously can't be trusted at this time. So am I just being controlling or is he trying to manipulate me and make me feel guilty?
Old 05-10-2011, 11:00 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

He's manipulating you.
Old 05-10-2011, 11:29 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Curled up in a good book...

Old 05-11-2011, 12:20 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

You have a reasonable boundary; he calls it controlling. He IS going to do that, because he doesn't like your boundary.

So am I just being controlling or is he trying to manipulate me and make me feel guilty?
In answer to the first part, no, you are not "just being controlling;" yes, he is "trying to manipulate" you, and with regards to the last part, he can't "make" you feel anything without your consent--so turn off the guilt-meter and stick to your guns!