SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   Evaluating a relationship - seeking options (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/222854-evaluating-relationship-seeking-options.html)

koikeeper 03-22-2011 12:28 PM

Evaluating a relationship - seeking options

First of all, YES, leave is an option. It always is. Staying is a choice.

But, here is the situation. I have been with a wonderful woman for 8 months. When we met, she was drinking - a lot. On our third date, she told me she was an alcoholic. I have no experience with this at all. Never even knew one. I wrote it off as just a label for a partier.

As time went on, I took it MUCH more seriously. I discovered she was drinking almost every day. As we dated more, she fought it. She tried not to drink. She ended up one night crying in a pool hall stall because she was trying not to drink, and losing the fight. her emails to me were tragic.

She goes to counseling. He has been trying to get her sober. And she has gotten better. Not abstinent, but better than she ever was. I FEEL like she is so close to winning.

Over 6 months ago, I told her I would not drink with her, facilitate her or participate in any dangerous behavior at all. I also stopped drinking completely. More for me, than her. I needed to understand how we could be social and have fun without a drink. I haven't had a drink at all now for 6 months. And I won't. Not for her, for me. It lost it's interest for me as well as its charm.

Since then, she has not had a drink around me. There have been about a few times when i know she had a drink before seeing me. I know several times she got drunk on her own.