Why is my Al-anon Sponsor Unsupportive About Leaving My AH

Old 02-05-2011, 08:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Why is my Al-anon Sponsor Unsupportive About Leaving My AH

I've been attending al-anon meetings regularly for the last 4 yrs. Recently, I told my sponsor that I wanted to leave my AH of over 30 yrs. She's been very unsupportive ever since I told her. She's told me several times that "he feels he's going to be criticized no matter what he does"! Oh, poor poor criticized man...LOL. Anyway, she told me this very thing today, and I told her that I hardly ever criticize him because when I do he says "I'm trying to start something" or I just know it falls on deaf ears. She said, "yes, but your body language tells him that you are critical!" What the hell can I do about that? When your AH is non-communicative, which all are, how can your body language NOT show your frustration. I told her that, and she said yes, she knew that was why my body language showed it. Mind you, this sponsor has only been around my AH and I together maybe 3 times over the last 2 years. So, how can she make such ridiculous statements since this is just one of many. I want to look at the statements critically, but I can't bring myself to feel sorry for AH. What else could she hope to accomplish with such statements? My daughter says that maybe I should distance myself from her. My counselor says maybe this brings up bad memories for her. She's been very supportive in dealing with an active AH, but now that I'm telling her I don't want to anymore, she seems to be on his side. To top it all off, she's divorced from an AH and now remarried to a non-alcoholic.