Tolerance

Old 01-25-2011, 12:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Tolerance

Hi all,
I am fairly new to this way of life. My wife has been drinking consistently now for around five years. It started like most with a glass or two with dinner or in the evening. Now for the last year or so it has been at least a bottle almost every night. For the last few months it has been every night. At first there were some nasty blackouts, then it was just falling asleep early in the evening. But I have noticed lately that she isnt falling asleep and you would hardly know that she has had a bottle in an hour and a half. So whats happening? Is here tolerance increasing to where it is going to take a bottle and a half or two? I am going nuts trying to figure out what to expect in the future.

grizz
Old 01-25-2011, 12:34 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi there and welcome,

My name is Rose and I am an alcoholic.

My experience is that she is hiding her drinking so that it appears to you she isn't drinking as much.

I hid my drinking so my DH wouldn't know that I had a bottle of wine before I had the glass or two with dinner. Then, I blamed my passing out, I mean falling asleep on my sinus medication, the herbs I was taking, etc. rather then being hones about my drinking.

I could be wrong...just sharing my experience with you
Old 01-25-2011, 12:39 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I have read that alcoholism progresses in such a way that yes, she could have built up a great deal of tolerance and no longer needs those early naps.

I have also read that the next stage (3) that she will progress to needing much less alcohol to get drunk, in fact a decreased tolerance.

You might want to read up on the 4 stages of alcoholism.
Old 01-25-2011, 12:43 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

She isnt trying to hide her drinking and I keep a close eye on how much is in the house. It just seems she isnt as intoxicated as she used to be a couple of months ago with the same amount of alcohol.
Old 01-25-2011, 12:46 PM
  # 5 (permalink)