SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   Dr. Jekyll and Ms. Hyde (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/216728-dr-jekyll-ms-hyde.html)

HusbandwAW 01-01-2011 12:19 PM

Dr. Jekyll and Ms. Hyde

Before I begin, let me list a few facts that I feel are important.

I have been in a relationship with the love of my life for 7 years, married for 2. We have no children yet, but this is something we both want someday. I work in finance, 7-5pm and she is a bartender 4-5 nights a week 4-2am. We see each other for a few minutes during the week, and spend time together on the weekend during the day. Her father is an alcoholic. She is admittedly an alcoholic herself. I drink, but not to escape anything in my life. My professional life is stable, and drinking is an occasional enjoyment. She had a DUI 10 years ago, but refrains from driving now when she has had drinks. We have a great relationship when she is sober. She went to school for fashion design and dropped out with a semester left. 3+ years ago. We have a large debt ($100k) that I am happy to pay down. She resents my help with finances. She is a very independent and intelligent woman. Lights up the room with her smile. I love her.