SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   Help for sister of an alcoholic (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/216370-help-sister-alcoholic.html)

hopefulsister 12-27-2010 01:22 PM

Help for sister of an alcoholic

This is my first time here...bear with me. My sister is an alcoholic, who has lied about everything I can think of and stolen from my family for the last 5 or so years. I have been dealing with this for a while now, and have put up some boundaries between she and I, and she still continues to lie, and drink/use, and unfortunately, my family plays the "it's alright, let's just pretend everything's normal" game, which I refuse to play anymore. I don't want my children around her, and frankly, I don't want to be around her anymore either. It's not that I don't love her, but I don't want a relationship with the person my sister has become. If she were trying to recover, it would be a different story, and I would want to try to begin to support her.