What do I say to my children?

Old 11-27-2010, 07:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What do I say to my children?

I am new to this -- just started going to Al Anon meetings (it is really helping). After 25 year relationship with my AH, he has finally moved out and is not in recovery yet but says he is not drinking. My kids, ages 12 and 14 want me to allow him to come home. Yet, from what I am learning about enabling and MY ROLE in this, that is the worst thing I could allow right now. We have been doing the "move out - move in" thing for the past 6 months. The longest my AH has been able to stay sober is 2 weeks. It has been hell. I want to protect my kids from more hurt but I don't know how to explain to them that this is the best thing for all of us. They are starting to think that I am just being mean. Can you help with the right words?
Old 11-27-2010, 07:59 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Does your Alanon chapter have an Alateen group?
They are the right age for it.
Alanon suggests honesty above all with kids, but it starts really being healthy when dealing with preteens/teens.
They are at an age where they can grasp the tools and they "get" it.

My son is 5, and I have found that even with him, honesty allows him to really grasp things with the least psychological damage. If I do not tell him what is really going on, in 5 year old language, he will and he has internalized it all and blamed himself.

The fact that yours are the gae they are is on your side. Look up alateen books.
Old 11-27-2010, 08:03 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

opportunity
Welcome to SR. I'm sorry that you are having to deal with this issue and the problems it brings with it to the entire family.