SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   This site is a gift (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/213838-site-gift.html)

yorkiegirl 11-21-2010 08:05 AM

This site is a gift

Hi Everyone,

I wanted to just say how thankful I am to be able to come here, read, post, & press the "thank you" button.

I am not a complete newbie to codie recovery, but I realize just how much work I have to do! I wanted to say that I actually "appreciate" some of the tough (or "tough love") postings. I am not sure 15 or 20 years ago I could've understood or appreciated it though. We are all in different places in our journey. I have always felt like I was "too sensitive," absorbing other people's pain & yes trying to help & fix! :cries3: When I get "tough," & even express how I am really feeling (direct, tough, & even mean) then I have felt that I get all this push back & criticism (again, shows how "too sensitive" I am!) :c021: Deep down inside I just want to be acknowledged & validated, I think. In a not-so odd way, I realize how I am very much like the alcoholic/addict in so many ways. I just play out my inner struggles differently.