SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   Please welcome lisainftw (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/209414-please-welcome-lisainftw.html)

lisainftw 09-19-2010 09:54 AM

Please welcome lisainftw

Hello everyone. I am new to the site. My husband is a very bad alcoholic. He has been in and out of jail for many years for substance abuse and alcohol related situations. He was just released from a 6 month jail term. He is completely out of control now. He doesn't want help and refuses to admit to the problem. I need to know where to begin to start proceedings to have him committed. Can someone please give me advise. It is a very desperate situation. He is a danger to himself and others. I have no experience in this what-so-ever. Can someone please help??

LexieCat 09-19-2010 09:59 AM

Hi, Lisa,

This is a very old thread, so you might want to start a new one, and introduce yourself.

It's a lot harder to get alcoholics committed these days than it used to be. Generally speaking, just being an out-of-control alcoholic isn't enough.

More important, what are you doing for YOURSELF? Alcoholics don't get well until they want to. We didn't CAUSE the alcoholism, we can't CONTROL it, and we can't CURE it. But there are things we can do to make our own lives better.

akrasia 09-19-2010 11:14 AM

I'm so sorry. I've struggled with this myself. I can't really add to the good advice listed here, but I wanted to lend my support.

Learn2Live 09-19-2010 12:10 PM

Hi lisainftw. Can you share why you think he is a danger to himself or others? If he is violent, you should call the police.