Letters to addicted loved ones...

Old 09-15-2010, 06:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Letters to addicted loved ones...

I want to compose a letter to my alcoholic pot-addicted mother letting her know clearly why I no longer wish to have contact with her. I feel like I need a lot of help. I have read so many good things already on Sober Recovery that have helped me clarify my emotions and understand my mother better.

I am not sure if I there is already a thread like this, and if so and someone has the link, please post. What I am looking for is continued help sorting through all these emotions and I find the greatest help is reading other peoples feelings towards their addicted loved ones.

While I have been angry with my mother for a long time, I am new to accepting that I must have no contact with her as long as she remains an active addict. I am tired of being complacent in her problems. Her problems have made my life unmanageable in so many ways.

I am so new to this feeling that I feel like I don't even have the language to adequately and succinctly express myself. I don't want to write my mother some sort of scathing letter. I want to write it from a place a love but also to clearly explain the damage her continued drinking is doing to me. Is that even recommended?

If anyone could share letters they have written to the addicts in their life, it would be most appreciated.
Old 09-15-2010, 06:47 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sunny Side Up

Hi Gardner
This is a good idea. I guess Im one who sees things a little differently now. I did write my sister a letter when she was alive but thinking about it now, the letter I would of given her was the one I wrote for her funeral. Two different types of letters. The letter I wrote to her when she was alive - was basically one about what I wanted for her and how I saw her then. The letter I would give her now is about the person she really was. WARNING - ITS LONG....