SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   Introducing myself (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/209038-introducing-myself.html)

Deesire 09-13-2010 07:10 PM

Introducing myself

I've been reading quite a few posts in the last week and am grateful to have found this forum.

I've also been going to several Al-Anon meetings in my city.

I'm still new to many of the concepts but finding comfort and hope in various posts.

The alcoholic in my life is my ex-spouse. He is really out of control right now. He is facing the possible loss of everything, including his life (he has been suicidal).

And I was able to leave the relationship mostly intact. We have been broken up for about a year and a half and my life is good.

But I became involved with him again over the last few months. Not romantically. But as a friend. And perhaps overly involved (ok, definitely overly involved).

Now I am working on detachment.

I haven't talked to him or gotten any news about him since Friday (it's now late Monday evening). At that time, he was planning to go into detox. I don't know whether he did go.

I am struggling with being ok in my own life, knowing that he might become bankrupt, homeless, perhaps dead, even. As much as I want it to, his may not be a happy ending.

He is an amazing person. Just the best guy, when his addiction hasn't taken him over.

I think I have some sort of survivor's guilt.

I am learning more about enabling and seeing how much of it I did over the years I was with him and more recently as I tried to help him in the last few months. I have been mostly a rescuer.