I'm new and need help

Old 10-22-2003, 08:47 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

Unhappy I'm new and need help

I am new to this, and probably should have checked into it sooner. I am a mom of 3 children, (1,2 and 8 y.o.) and a wife of an alcoholic. This weekend, my husband went on a 3 day bender,which included hard liquor, partying with the "guys", and whatever else. He took off on his Harley after a major fight between us over his drinking. I was unable to stop him. He smashed half of a wall in our house, and our chandelier before he left. I didnt hear from him all weekend, until Sunday morning, in which he showed up and started having all of these symptoms of alcohol poisoning...violently shaking/tremors/vomiting...
I have had it with all of this and I have hit a point that I cant even cry anymore. He has damaged so many relationships with family and friends, co workers and our children dont even miss him when he's gone...because theyre use to him not being home half the time.
I sat him down and told him that i was finished with all of this. I made sure i did this when he was ill, because I have found that when I try and talk to him when hes feeling better, he shrugs his shoulders and says"whatever".
Today he's feeling better, and of course, here comes the attitude again. He is suppose to go in for an evaluation next week, to determine if he needs inpatient or outpatient treatment. I have dealt with this over and over again, and mentally and physically I cant do it anymore. I know its not over, because I have heard promises over and over again for the last 12 years that are continually broke. I feel like Im dying inside, but cant talk to family or friends anymore. I feel they are judging me for staying and putting up with it. I cant listen to people ask me when I'm going to leave...I find that I hide what happens so it doesnt make me look so weak.
Old 10-22-2003, 09:01 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Timosbh!