How many lawyer hours = completed divorce?

Old 08-15-2010, 08:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question How many lawyer hours = completed divorce?

I am amazed at divorce lawyer hourly fees.

I'm curious - how many lawyer hours did you, or have you so far, racked up while going through divorce?

I know there will be more hours if it gets nasty - I was just curious to hear the voices of different experiences.
Old 08-15-2010, 09:07 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A work in progress

My first divorce was completely amicable, and fees were minimal. His lawyers drafted the agreement we had worked out, my lawyer reviewed it and made a couple of minor changes, done.

Second one I handled myself (no kids, brief marriage, minimal assets, minimal debt).

But yes, the fees can get HUGE if it gets ugly.

My own suggestions are these (I'm a lawyer, not a divorce lawyer, but I had to spend a lot of time in family court with people going through divorces):

Pick your battles carefully. If it doesn't matter who wins a particular issue, let it go (if it's contentious, hold it as a negotiating chip, but don't fight over anything as a matter of "principle"--principle gets expensive fast). You don't get "points" for how many issues you "win".

Tell your lawyer what you would LIKE, and what you will settle for--your absolute bottom line. If he or she is a good negotiator, that will help resolve things faster.

Mediation is cheaper than court if both parties are reasonable and there is no actual abuse involved.

If there are only a few issues that are seriously in dispute, agree on the rest, and negotiate or litigate only what's really in dispute.

Where divorce gets really expensive is when both parties feel the need to feel like they "won". Usually if each party feels somewhat satisfied, though not happy with the entire result, the resolution is fair.

I gave up my "rights" to quite a few things for the sake of freedom and peace of mind, and a reasonable legal bill. To me, that was a win.