SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   I'm a newbie (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/205265-im-newbie.html)

ChrrisT 07-17-2010 04:58 AM

I'm a newbie

Hey guys,
Just found this site. It seems awesome!! I've been reading for about 20 minutes and I have already laughed and cryed.

The reason I was looking... please help

short and sweet (well maybe not so short)
Relationship 5 years (married) of mostly h&ll - all the typical b.s. - yes it was voluntary - not an arranged thing.
Separated for 6 months - reconciled - back together 1 year
regular meetings - check
working the steps and sponsor - check
no relaspes - check
loves life - check
working like a dog- check
money in the bank - check
everything good

BUT...
That brain thing!! you know - trying to make sense of his senselessness.
the double talk - the contradictions in the same sentence.
the denial - saying anything just to win - how bout living in reality ALL the time dude!
I know I'm not crazy - I know his emotional development has been stunted (he started drinking at 12) (occasionally he remembers - but then forgets - like a dog).
The Question - Is this acoholism or just testostrone?

Thank you!!!

coffeedrinker 07-17-2010 05:32 AM

i don't know about the testosterone....i'm not sure if that was a gender insult comment. it is my belief that men are not hard-wired to be jerks, insensitive, or ridiculous. but once someone crosses the line into addiction, that's all part of the package.

welcome to sober recovery forum. it is a good, good place.

i think it takes time - for him to regain sanity, and for you as well.

stick around.

Jazzman 07-17-2010 06:22 AM

Originally Posted by ChrrisT (Post 2654126)
Is this acoholism or just testostrone?