Friend's bf-need help ASAP!

Old 07-04-2010, 07:14 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Friend's bf-need help ASAP!

I posted this on the other forum, but I guess there are technical problems?

Hi, I'm not new here, but it's been a while since I've posted.

A friend of mine's alcoholic bf was all fired up to get into treatment the other day, but the treatment center could not accept him until Tuesday. He started going to meetings yesterday. Well, my friend told me today that now he's trying to claim his AA sponsor is talking him out of formal treatment.

People, this guy is SO bad-you should see how much he drinks every day. I suspect he CANNOT stop drinking w/out a medical detox, and I also cannot imagine an AA sponsor doling out what essentially amounts to medical advice like this.

I have a lot of experience w/AA, and knowing how dishonest and manipulative alcoholics can be, I'm thinking, her bf is scared and lying about this.

My friend left a message w/her bf's sponsor to check up on this story. In the meantime, I wasn't sure what to tell her to do.

Knowing that she can only control her own behavior, I said, what i would do is, tell him "ok, that's fine that you don't want to go to treatment, but if you don't, you can no longer live here."

I'm not sure what else she can do? Anybody have any advice??
Old 07-04-2010, 09:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
I'm growing

Nice to see you back!

Really she can do nothing. This isn't hers to control. If he is ready he will go. If he isn't he won't.

Personally the best thing she can do IMO is drop the subject all together. Ultimatums rarely work. And if she says she is leaving she needs to really do it. BUT she should do it for herself, yah know.
Old 07-04-2010, 10:19 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks. her concern is, she doesn't want him living there and doing what basically amounts to a non-medical detox.