Drinking to get sick of it, anyone else come across this?

Old 05-23-2010, 03:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Drinking to get sick of it, anyone else come across this?

AH has been drinking every evening for the last while (maybe a week). He is drinking so that he will get sick of it and not do it again. I have been hearing something like this from him since 1992.

Has anyone else dealt with this?

He is not abusive, he's a nice guy. I am not yet ready to do anything about this. I am not even steamed, just not keeping him company, IYKWIM.
Old 05-23-2010, 03:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

sounds like an excuse not to do the real work
Old 05-23-2010, 03:47 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I have actually done this, drink several days in a row in order to get a 5-alarm hangover and be so sick I'll decide to stop drinking. This is stupid and very dangerous. If he is doing what I did he may pass up sickness and just die.

Tell him to try AA. It's free and it's everywhere.
Old 05-23-2010, 04:01 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

My AS went through this phase in the progression of her disease. It did not work and she still drinks. I think it's a common tactic, the feeling that they can somehow "will" it out of their system (makes no more sense than me trying to "will" my body to stop having asthma, which is my disease).

It's sad, but it is what they will do.
Old 05-23-2010, 07:25 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Go ask the Multivax

From an A - That's crazy!

All it's going to do is increase his physical dependency on it (mental too). So sorry you have to put up with that! :-(
Old 05-24-2010, 03:17 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

He's been doing this since 1992, for 8 years and it hasn't worked yet? Not that it ever was going to succeed, but hey...compared to some ideas I have heard, it almost seems logical.

Time to either look at something else, or admit he has no desire to quit at all.

You seem to be able to cope with this, and not keep him company or enable him.

God bless
Old 05-24-2010, 03:50 AM